Stephen King is the king of fear.

Stephen King says that fear ruins writing your best because when you’re afraid of writing what you are actually feeling then the end result will not be as good as what you wanted it to be.  A writer should not be afraid to speak their mind or they will not be able to grow as a writer.  Whether some would like it or not, there may be harsh criticism for the topic of their writing and we just have to accept that it will happen.  Fear can get in the way of my writing because even when I start to type up a paper, I get afraid if I don’t know much on the topic.  I start to freeze up and put off the entire paper until it is almost too late and end up just typing up complete garbage and turning it in the next day.   I also get afraid that whatever I wrote, it would get a terrible grade and I was terrified by what the teacher would be mean and the paper would be full of red markings. I would be worried more so on what I write if I were to read it out loud to a class because of all the judging eyes that would watching as I read my wet garbage. Over the years, I have learned to be less critical and more confident in myself and that whatever I write, it comes right out without hesitation.  I think a lot of writers are afraid of doing their best because they’re afraid that someone will read what they wrote, someone that was not intended to read it. 

2 thoughts on “Stephen King is the king of fear.

  1. I can relate a lot with what you are saying. I always find that the first sentence is the hardest to write because I always overthink things. I think so many students can relate to that experience as well. I liked that I was able to relate to your struggles, but I think you could go even more in depth on the topic; I would have loved to hear more of what you have to say.

    Like

  2. When I write my paper, I always feel that I don’t where to start and only know only a little bit about the topic. So I finish my paper every time very late. And I type a lot of unimportant contents in it in order to fill the blank. After I turned in my paper, I began to worry about I might get a bad grade. Not to mention reading my paper in front of the class. So I can totally understand your feelings. Good job!

    Like

Leave a comment